Day Zero [No Added Sugar]

Hi, I’m overweight.

At 5’2″ (160cm), and approximately 74kg (154lbs), I have a BMI of 27.3. At the most basic, this means I have to lose 11kg, to have a healthy BMI- which is a moderately suitable indicator for me, I definitely don’t have a high muscle mass percentage!

I’ve taken a long look at my diet, and noted that I have fallen into the trap that so many people who are vegetarian do- I eat a lot of carbs, and in particular a lot of sugary carbs. I find myself snacking frequently on biscuits, chocolate and other snacks, and this is probably what contributes to my constant tiredness and exhaustion, leading to my plan of cutting out all added sugar for thirty days straight. 

I’ve set a few rules for myself over the course of this, which can be summarised as:

  • No added sugar
  • No sugar under a different name, such as honey or maple syrup
  • No artificial sweeteners
  • No sugar substitutes
  • Try to avoid excessive fat and calorie consumption!

This rules out pretty much all of my favourite foods unfortunately- but this should have at least one benefit, in that I am allergic to dairy, and should remove from my diet most of the things that make me tired and bloated!

I start tomorrow- please hold me accountable!

3 thoughts on “Day Zero [No Added Sugar]

Leave a Reply

